The CJA Awards celebrate outstanding organisations, individuals, journalists and digital media champions who have made a marked contribution towards a ‘Fair and Effective Criminal Justice System’ which is Safe, Smart, Person-Centred, Restorative and Trusted. The 2019 Awards – generously supported by the Hadley Trust – give prizes of £4,000 and £2,000 to two organisations, and £1,000 and £500 to individuals to support their work.

We’re delighted to announce the winners of this year’s Awards, who were revealed at a ceremony in London on 29 November by Dr. Baz Dreisinger, founder of the Incarceration Nations Network. The winners are:

Details about the work of the winners, and all those shortlisted, can be found in the Awards brochure – What Good Looks Like.

Shortlisted nominees for the 2019 CJA Awards were:

Outstanding Organisation:

  • Browns Community Services CIC: Transforming the lives of people in the criminal justice system with an Intensive Support Service.
  • Circles UK: National body overseeing provision of Circles of Support and Accountability across England and Wales.
  • Peer Power: Social justice charity, engaging with the most under-supported children, teenagers and young adults in society.
  • Prison Reform Trust, Prisoner Policy Network: Network of prisoners, ex-prisoners and supporting organisations making sure prisoners’ experiences are part of prison policy development.
  • Safer Living Foundation: A multi-agency approach to reducing sexual offending and re-offending through rehabilitative and preventative initiatives.

Outstanding Individual:

  • Sofia Buncy, Muslim Women in Prison Project, Khidmat Centres
  • Barry Flanagan, Recycling Lives
  • Gethin Jones, Founder of Unlocking Potential
  • Dr Shona Minson, University of Oxford
  • Sabrina Parkins, Prison Officer (Unlocked Graduates)
  • Shelley, Wales Restorative Approaches Partnership

Outstanding Journalism:

  • Claudia-Liza Armah and the Channel 5, 6:30 News Team, for coverage of the impact on children on the imprisonment of their mothers.

Outstanding Digital Media Champion:

  • Lady Edwina Grosvenor, for the JUSTICE podcast which explores aspects of the criminal justice system from a range of different perspectives.

Judging Panel CJA Outstanding Organisation and Individual Award 2019:

  • Iqbal Wahhab – Chair of EQUAL
  • Marie-Claire O’Brien – CJA Outstanding Individual 2019, Director of New Leaf Initiative CIC
  • Dame Vera Baird – Victims Commissioner
  • Babafemi Dada – Governor HMP Featherstone

Judging Panel CJA Media Awards 2019

  • Danny Shaw (BBC Home Affairs Correspondent)
  • Raphael Rowe (Investigative Reporter – Panorama, Netflix, The One Show)
  • Penelope Gibbs (Transform Justice, Author of ‘Reframing Justice’)
  • Jodie Jackson, (Author of ‘You are what you read’, Constructive Journalism Project)
  • Nadine Smith (CJA trustee, young adult)